The Landmark Restaurant
On 11-2-07 WCGAPS investigated the Landmark Restaurant, located at 809 W. Main St. Mesa, Az. WCGAPS started the investigation at 7:30 pm and ended at 11:00 pm. Claims included voices heard in downstairs rooms and bathroom faucets being turned on and off.
The Landmark Restaurant was originally built in 1908 as a Mormon church. In 1939 the church was added on to make the building what it is today. In the 1950’s the congregation moved on to larger quarters and the building was used as an office building by an insurance company. In 1963 the building was used as the original campus of Mesa Community College. In 1972 the building was turned into a restaurant and in 1981 Don and Candy Ellis bought the building and re-opened the restaurant under the Landmark name. They continue to refurbish and care for this unique property to this day.
For our investigation, cameras were set up in the banquet room, cellar, and patio room. We were able to debunk the bathroom faucets. Faucets were of the motion sensor type and could be accidentally set off. In the banquet room downstairs, acoustics were such that noises and people talking could be heard from both inside and outside of the building.
We were unable to capture any photographic, audio, or video evidence. Based on our findings, we can’t claim any paranormal activity at the property at this time.